WDM Leadership Academy Alumni

The purpose of the WDMLA alumni group is to support the overall program’s vision of building strong leaders and positively influencing the community.

Strong leaders have strong networks, and the relationships of this program continue to grow past the 9-months of curriculum. The alumni committee creates fun, engaging opportunities each quarter for alumni to re-connect and expand their network through the 400+ alumni base.

The alumni also helps with recruitment efforts and provide guidance to the current class for their class project.

Tell me

Want to reconnect with your class and meet other leaders who have been through this same experience? Join us for one of the upcoming events:









West Des Moines Day of Kindness

The WDM Leadership Academy Alumni also created the WDM Day of Kindness. During 2020 when community morale and hope was low as a result of the pandemic, the Alumni focused on one of the WDMLA pillars: making a positive impact on the community.

The WDMLA Alumni recognize the importance of kindness and how small acts can truly make the biggest difference in someone’s life. Each January, the Mayor of West Des Moines proclaims a “WDM Day of Kindness” where community members are challenged to be intentional with this.

You can pay it forward in line for coffee, show appreciation for our frontline workers, shovel a neighbor’s driveway, or send a thoughtful text to someone who might need some encouraging words. 

Big or small, monetary or action-oriented, anonymous or direct…let’s make a difference this upcoming January. #WDMstrong #WDMkind

Alumni are encouraged to collect change throughout the year and bring it to the quarterly events. The Alumni Committee will determine how we will use the compiled change as a monetary give-back on the WDM Day of Kindness each year. 

Stay tuned for the 2022 date! 

Alumni: Est. 2009

Cole Amstutz, ServiceMaster by Rice. Sarah Borchers, Aureon. Jordan Bouslog, Cushman & Wakefield Iowa Commercial Advisors. Gwen Brandt, First National Bank. Peter Chalik, Whitfield & Eddy Law. Tonja Clark, Brokers International. Mary Clayton, IMT Insurance. Jeff DeVore, West Bank. Molly Eklund, Diversified Management Services. Jay Farley, Merchants Bonding Company. Aaron Fulton, RDG Planning and Design. Aubyn Giampolo, Westcom Emergency Communications with the City of West Des Moines. Katie Hanson, MercyOne West Des Moines Medical Center. Steve Healey, Pratum. John Hicklin, Athene. Tyler Kamerman, Bank of the West. Lexi Konig, Make-A-Wish Iowa. Nicole Krueger, Davis Brown Law Firm. Natalie Mahoney, PolicyWorks. Patrick McCormick, NCMIC Group, Inc. Aaron McElroy, Access Technologies. Rob Miller, Carrier Access, Inc. Meredith Moore, BANK. Claire Muselman, North American Risk Services. Brenda Nelson, NCMIC Group, Inc. Jordanne Oleson, AssuredPartners. Tricia Proctor, Sammons Financial Group. Lori Schervish, American Equity Investment Life Insurance Co. Gregg Schmidt, Estes Construction. Travis Small, Casey’s. Kristina Spieker, McGowen Hurst Clark and Smith, PC. Brent Strauch, Shive-Hatter. Cara Treybal, Northwest Bank. Todd Van Epps, Aureon. Nick Zimmer, Bankers Trust. 

Sally Andersen, ADP

Sarah Anthofer, LMC Insurance & Risk Management

Rhiannon Baker, Holden Litigation

Nathan Beck, McGowen Hurst Clark & Smith

Jim Bembenek II, NCMIC Group, Inc.

Sean Boarini, Iowa Clinic

Ray Champlin, American Equity

Mayumi Fernandez, Principal Financial Group

Sean Flanery, Bank Iowa

Karen Hardisty, Shive-Hattery, Inc.

Katie Hernandez, City of West Des Moines

Ngam Hoang, Girl Scouts of Greater Iowa

Haley Hockensmith, West Des Moines Community Schools

Stephanie Holmes, QCI

Merso Jusic, Bankers Trust

Mallory Katzer, Holmes Murphy

Nicole Kmett, GuideOne Insurance

Megan Kohler, Palmer Group

Martha Lebron-Dykeman, Berkshire Hathaway Home Services First Realty

Christy Lockard McDermott, Carrier Access, Inc.

Enna Mendez, Status Building Solutions

Alecia Meuleners, Whitfield & Eddy Law

Kendra Meyer, Bank of the West

Mark Mills, R&R Realty Group

Jaime Blue, JLN Realty Company

Eric Peterson, City of West Des Moines

Joel Regenwether, First National Bank

Kelsey Russell, Hubbell Homes

Mark Sabers, The Weitz Company

Matt Sargent, Midwest Growth Partners

Jill Saunders, Thorsheim & Ceraso

Patrick Schroeder, HomeServices of Iowa

Amy Schultz, LWBJ, LLP

Paul Schut, Marco

Austin Smith, UnityPoint Health

Ross Taets, Northwest Bank

Lucas Wardenburg, KCL Engineering, PLC

Amber Weger, West Bank

Megan Wonsmos, IMT Insurance

Toggle Content
Toggle Content
Toggle Content
Toggle Content
Toggle Content
Toggle Content
Toggle Content
Toggle Content
Toggle Content
Toggle Content
Toggle Content

Meet the Alumni Committee!

Jordan Bouslog, Chair
Class of ’21

Cushman & Wakefield Iowa Commercial Advisors

Mark Mills
Class of ’20

R&R Realty Group

Maggie McClelland
Class of ’19

Great Outdoors Foundation

Carly Pearson
Class of ’18

Remax Precision

Miche Crise
Class of ’17

Wells Fargo

Class of ’16


Christy Gooding
Class of ’15

F&G Life

Jeremy Bielski
Class of ’14

ITA Group

Debby Hudson
Class of ’13

Genesis Health Clubs

Tori Glade
Class of ’12

S&S Employment Partners

Class of ’11


Maria Davis
Class of ’10

R&R Realty Group

Mike Schneider
Class of ’09